top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKomjátszegi Fábián Hunor

Time jump Christmas


One afternoon after the school program I went down to throw out the gathered trash. As I opened the dumpster’s lid, I noticed something glittering at the bottom of the pit. I was driven by curiosity, so I reached for the antique WW1-looking object. However, in that moment, a strange force pulled me into the dumpster.

When I woke up, I had no idea where I was, but I had to react quickly, as I immediately noticed that I was in a hundred-meter-wide field between two trenches, with a bullet storm and barbed wire around me. As I rushed into cover, I prayed I wouldn’t get a bullet into my head halfway. Fate had brought me to the German, Austro-Hungarian side of the conflict. I was probably somewhere on the western front, as there were English and French soldiers on the opposite side. It was visible on me that I was old enough to be enlisted locally.

So, I fought on the western front for a month. During this period, I saw enough horror for a lifetime. I lost friends and companions, and I was also forced to kill in order to survive.

However, Christmas had come, which had brought a surprising turn. On the evening of 24th December, a couple of soldiers came out from the opposite ditch and dropped their guns on the ground. At first, we thought that that was a trick, nonetheless, we didn’t shoot immediately. It turned out that their intention was not hostile, so we climbed out of the trenches at the invitation.

Despite the war, we played a friendly football match and offered each other cigarettes and other goods as Christmas gifts. For one evening we could become human again, even if only for a short time. On the next day I was shot in the chest, and I lay bleeding on the battlefield.

What I had thought to be pain of the shot was actually caused by a defibrillator. It turned out that I had sat for approximately 10 minutes in the trash bin with half my body, before a stranger called the ambulance. I had a bump on my head, which was probably caused by the dumpster door hitting me when I bent over for that particular item. It turned out I had knocked myself out for almost a quarter of an hour because of a beer cap, as I had seen that as some sort of a badge.

The dream, however, had a great impact on me, I don’t think I have a reason to complain about everyday life anymore.

Komjátszegi Fábián Hunor XI.R

101 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Jakab Mihaly
Dec 06, 2021

Beautiful story!

Like

miikebig78
miikebig78
Dec 06, 2021

Nagyon beautiful! Smecher you are Hunorgyerek

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page