top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBalázs-Blénessi-Pataki Kincső

The Budapest mission (Chapter 6)



Natasha woke up early – or at least that was what she thought. With a big yawn, she tried to stretch. She immediately regretted it, quietly cursing under her breath, as her shoulder still ached. Only after a few moments did she manage to find out where she was: an old, small apartment in Budapest, with an enemy. But where was the agent?

Natasha went to the bathroom, washed her face and drank some awful, yellowish water from the tap, then looked out of the small window. The view was really pictouresque. The first rays of dawn lit the shady streets in a warm light, reflecting the windows of the closed, small shops.

There weren’t any vehicles around, but from the main road, she could hear the traffic and the roaring sound of a ship, which probably started its daily cruise. On the opposite side, the green shutters were all shut, except for one. With her sharp eyes, she could see the antique wooden furniture, a big clock and some paintings. She also spotted an old lady drinking her morning coffee and her husband eating a slice of bread with red paste. She recognised it; the Hungarians had it with almost every food. The brand had a weird name, something strong.

Suddenly, she heard the creaking sound of the rusty door.

”So you’re not dead, only a deep sleeper.”

”Shall I refresh your memory about how I was fatally shot, passed out, only to travel

on a godforsaken train to a city I don’t know, and…”

”Whoa, stop right there! As I see, you’re not a morning person from any aspect.”

”Where did you go?”

”I brought some breakfast. Unless you’re a tardigrade, you need to eat something

for breakfast.”

”What’s that?”

”It’s more commonly known as water bear. Or not, as you look like your head’s

gonna explode. It’s a micro-animal.”

”Since when are you an expert in biology?”

”Since I read a National Geographic magazine when I was bored.”

While talking, Clint unpacked his backpack and took out half a loaf of bread, a few

energy bars and apples. Natasha was eyeing him suspiciously.

”I’m not hungry, thank you.”

”Don’t lie to my face, please.”

”Seriously. Sometimes I haven’t eaten for, like 5 days, only drank muddy water.”

Clint sighed, then rolled his eyes.

”I told you already that I didn’t risk my life to bring you and kill you here.”

”Why not?”

”Because firstly, you’re not worth it, secondly, I may have figured out a way to get back my job, and thirdly, I don’t have money to buy poison.”

”You can make poison from almost anything.”

”Really? And how could I possibly put the poison into an already packed energy

bar and then pack it back so nicely, like it was made in the factory?”

”You could inject it.”

”I don’t know if someone told you before, but you’re very annoying and have zero

logic. Look, if you don’t want to eat food, then eat oxygen, but I’m starving, plus, I need energy.”

Clint sat down and started to munch on an apple. Natasha was still standing there, but after a couple of minutes, she finally took a slice of bread. With every bite, she became more surprised. This was the first time when someone gave her food without the threat of poisoning her. She looked at the agent. Maybe he didn’t plan to kill her. For now. She still had to be careful.


Balázs-Blénessi-Pataki Kincső VIII. C

87 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page