top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDomokos Orsolya

Finding Wonderland

“Down, down, down. Would the fall never come to an end? I wonder how many miles I’ve fallen by this time?” she said aloud. “I must be getting somewhere near the centre of the Earth!”

These words were echoing in my head. Alice at least had a vague idea of where she was. I was just falling and falling, but honestly, I didn’t mind it, I embraced every moment of it, I cleared my mind. Who knows? Maybe I will end up in Wonderland…

Suddenly, light overcame darkness, everything was blindingly bright. The cold, autumn breeze was blowing through my hair. Could this be Wonderland? Could it be real? Or am I just crazy? No, I’m not crazy, my reality is just different from yours. This is my dream or my life, I haven’t figured out yet whether this is real, an alternative reality, or my brain is just tricking me, I will decide where it goes from here. Wait, I got so lost in my thoughts that I lost touch with my new reality. I looked around and the view was just breath-taking.

The skyline of the city was an amazing and artistic mixture of sparkling glass structures and the strength and hidden wisdom of historic buildings. A lively city, full of laughter, music, culture, and art… it must be Wonderland.

And there was more, the sound of celebration filled my heart, I heard the dancing of the waves. I jumped into a boat, I wanted to feel alive, I wanted to be part of the ceremony. Time stopped for a moment. Suddenly, I was in front of a massive but welcoming gate. It was slightly open.

I stepped inside showing no sign of hesitation, however, I found myself in emptiness. The only source of light was a small, sparkling, blue bottle.

“Should I drink it?” I was thinking. “What if it’s poisonous? But how could it be? It’s pure beauty, sealed in a bottle. And again, this is my dream, I control it.”

And with that thought in my mind, I drank it. The dark room transformed into an art gallery, but don’t worry, not into a usual one, at least not for me, as I became part of the painting. I became art. I was able to see the process of creating an artwork, I met famous artists, I had a chance to feel their sadness, to share their happiness, to understand the emotions behind their works. Magic… this must be Wonderland, there is no other explanation, but to be honest, does it matter?

From one moment to the next, I found myself in front of that enormous gate again. The street was empty, I noticed a childish grin in the distance… a cat with a grin. He was my only hope. By that time, it didn’t seem impossible, the idea of a speaking cat.

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?”

“That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat.

“I don’t much care where,” I said.

“Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

“…as long as I get somewhere,” I added as an explanation.

“Oh, you’re sure to do that,” said the Cat, “if you only walk long enough.”

He had a point… However, one detail was still missing…

“But where am I now?” I asked.



161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page